RSS

Gramma Nettie spins wool

21 Jul
Gramma Nettie spins wool

And what else is new about that?  So here is my latest example of grey Shetland wool which I carded, dyed using Country Classics colors, then blended on the drum carder.  I don’t know how many stupid bats I did before I figured out what to do.  I tried to stick with either warm or cool colors, but added a splash of the other for interest.  The purple ended up quite nice.  I took some of the same colors and spun long series of singles which I plied with the shorter series, creating a sort of fake fractal ply.  Oh, I also added glitter!


This is the Batt ready to spin.

Here it is blended on the drum carder.  I use a cat brush as the brush.

Partly spun.  It does have a bit of VM

Spun, washed and fulled.

The warm colors With a touch of green

An Entrelac beret I made up with colors I’m not really pleased with.  I’ll probably frog it.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on 21 July 2016 in Handspun, Knit, Socks, Wool

 

Tags: , , , , ,

4 responses to “Gramma Nettie spins wool

  1. Jude Cowell

    5 August 2016 at 7:55 pm

    Reblogged this on Jude's Threshold and commented:
    Beautiful yarn!

    Like

     
    • dayspringacres

      5 August 2016 at 11:11 pm

      Thank you! I will post the surgery socks I am binding off even as we speak. Lots of drama for this mama, so blogging takes a back seat.

      Like

       
  2. Kathie Mitchell

    26 July 2016 at 4:41 am

    Very Interesting…

    Like

     
  3. Coggies&Cuddies®

    24 July 2016 at 4:24 am

    What lovely colours, and very interesting to see some of the process behind spinning 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

     

Leave a Reply

 
