RSS

The New Sixty

25 Jun

Country grandmother is the youngest grandmother on the nation, and she has the card(ed) to prove it!

Country Grandmother

They say – whoever ‘they’ is – that age 60 is the new 40.

However, ‘they’ is wrong. Age 60 is the new 17…at least in Dick’s Sporting Goods.

While shopping in Dicks, I placed a camping stove in my cart, along with two of those green metal bottles of propane fuel for the stove. Shopping complete, I headed to a checkout counter.

Young Gal at the cash register rang up my purchases, and then said, “I need your birthdate.”

“My birthdate?”

Young Gal nodded. “Yes, I need to verify that you’re old enough to purchase the bottles of propane.”

My mouth literally dropped open. Had I just been carded to buy propane? Me…the grandmother with totally gray hair, wrinkled skin, and age-spotted hands who at that moment stood next to Teenage Grandson!

“I don’t look old enough?”

Young Gal didn’t answer my question, only smiled. “It’s company policy, I…

View original post 38 more words

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on 25 June 2014 in Grandmothers

 

Leave a Reply

 
