RSS

My Grandmother, My Idol

01 Jun

This author describes in perfect detail what it is to be a grand-mother.

Nicole Feledy's Blog

AnyuGrandmother, think for a moment, what does the the word mean to you?

What is your first thought, your first emotion? What do you think when you hear someone say… grandmother? To me, grandmother is more than a word, more than a title, more than a label that defines a familial relationship. Rather,  it is an aspiration.

Please, let me explain.

To be a grand is to strive to be the best. To be a mother is to be nurturing, protective, supportive and to love unconditionally. That is what my Grandmother is to me.  An inspirational nurturer who guided her family to freedom – physically, mentally and emotionally.

My Grandmother always understood, it seemed she knew me better than I knew myself. She saw, even when I didn’t. My Grandmother introduced me to a world of grace and innate nobility. She was a lady, not the pampered, vacuous kind, but a real…

View original post 260 more words

 
2 Comments

Posted by on 1 June 2014 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “My Grandmother, My Idol

  1. bunnellmassmediaA

    2 June 2014 at 3:03 pm

    My closest person growing up was my grandmother. She taught me how to sew, how to crochet. I spent at least one weekend a month with her because I enjoyed being with her. Your site reminds me of my youth.

    Like

     
    • dayspringacres

      2 June 2014 at 3:23 pm

      I wish I could have spent time with my grandmothers. I hope my grandsons have a grandmother like you describe.

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
