RSS

Gramma Nettie goes to School

30 Jan

I am a Registered Nurse. I work more than full time, yet I am going back to school to get my four year degree in nursing, typically called the RN to BSN program. Learning at this age is different than learning when I was younger.

2013-07-10 12.33.43

As an older (!) adult learner, I find I have to utilize the KISS principle: Keep It Simple, Silly! This means that I have to understand the content in class, and memorize ONLY those things I have to.  Time management has always been my biggest problem, and now with Facebook and WordPress, I struggle even more.  I am a huge procrastinator.

My class is totally online, which helps tremendously. I can attend the once-a-week virtual class on my day off, and work on the many (oh, so many) assignments at whatever time of day works best for me. I have had to hone my learning muscles.

2014-01-27 19.11.21

Stanhope, M., & Lancaster, J. (2012). Public Health Nursing; Population-Centered Health Care in the Community (8th ed.). Maryland Heights, Missouri: Elsevier.

How does this relate to being a grandmother? Because I can relate to the trials and tribulations of schooling. I have recent experience. It helps my children understand how much hard work goes into this, and I feel/hope it will inspire them. I also hope my grandchildren will take inspiration from me, and say — as I do of my own mother — if SHE can do it, then so can I!

Besides, learning new things helps keep this brain young.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on 30 January 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
